The 5 best Ferrari Formula One drivers of all time

Author: anwr Date: January 30, 2020 21:50 Comments: 0 Viewed:1824
Since the Formula One World Championship began in 1950, one team has remained ever present: Ferrari, and in 2020, the Prancing Horse will enter its 1000th F1 race.
There have been many victories - 237 to be exact. Many titles – 16 constructors and 15 drivers’ titles. There has also been plenty of controversies but without doubt, Ferrari have had some of the best drivers ever to grace motorsport sit behind the wheel.
So, who are the top five drivers for the Scuderia in the Italian marque’s Formula One history?

Alberto Ascari – Wins for Ferrari: 13

Italian Alberto Ascari was the first man to win the Formula One world Championship for the Scuderia when he won six straight races in his Ferrari 500 in 1952.

The following season, Ascari carried on where he left off winning five times in 1953 to match Alfa Romeo’s titles in 1950 and 1951.

In 32 starts in F1, Ascari won 13 times all of which came for the Prancing Horse. Tragically, in 1955 Ascari was killed in a high-speed crash during an unrelated testing session but his Ferrari legacy was assured for all of time.

Nigel Mansell – Wins for Ferrari: 3

Nigel Mansell only spent two seasons with the Scuderia but quickly earned the nickname ‘Il Leone’ (the lion) from the ardent Tifosi support for his never give up attitude.

Winning on his Ferrari debut at the 1989 Brazilian Grand Prix in a relatively uncompetitive car was the perfect start but it was later in the season at the Hungarian Grand Prix when the Tifosi took to Mansell as one of their own.

Qualifying his Ferrari in 12th, little was expected from the race. However, lapping two seconds faster than everyone else led to Mansell catching race leader Ayrton Senna and eventually battling past.

To this day, Mansell himself says that was one of his top three races of all time and although just one more race win would follow in the prancing horse for Mansell, he would remain a Tifosi favourite forever.

Gilles Villeneuve – Wins for Ferrari: 6

Villeneuve was described by fellow competitor Jody Scheckter as ‘the fastest man in the history of motorsport’.

Tragically, Scheckter delivered those words at Villeneuve’s funeral in 1982 after a qualifying accident at the Belgian Grand Prix.

However, Villeneuve was adored by Ferrari for his undeniable speed and his attitude for never giving up.

In total he recorded six wins for the Scuderia, and he is still so revered by the Italians there is a corner names after him at Imola – home of the San Marino Grand Prix as well as a Canadian flag painted on the third slot of the grid in his honour.

Niki Lauda - Wins for Ferrari: 15

Niki Lauda is well known for his 1976 Nürburgring crash that left him with severe burns and fighting for his life.

Six weeks later he was back in Ferrari and almost claimed the world title just losing out to James Hunt.

That is only a small part of the story though as in just four seasons, Lauda claimed 15 victories for the Scuderia and two world titles in 1975 and 1977.

Michael Schumacher – Wins for Ferrari: 72

How could it be anyone else? Michael Schumacher wasn’t just the driver behind the wheel in one of the most dominant periods of motorsport history, but the German was the main man driving it all forward.

Not only was Schumacher fast, his attention to detail drove Formula One to levels it had never been before and made superstars and multi-millionaires of everyone.

Five world titles in eleven seasons for Ferrari is the best record of them all and Schumacher’s legacy is undeniable.